Thank you for smoking – Formula D, Sydney /// Gallery

Thank you for smoking – Formula D, Sydney /// Gallery

On the back of a very successful World Time Attack, Sydney still had more to offer… Formula Drift. Formula Drift held its first ever Sydney round on the Southern Circuit of the Sydney Motorsport park (Eastern Creek) after a good turn out the previous year in Melbourne.

The southern circuit, for those unfamiliar with Sydney Motorsport Park, has an embankment adjacent to the track which provides spectacular viewing on short-run based events like Formula Drift. The day brought more hot weather and perfect spectator conditions, and the banks were full all day with umbrellas, gazebos and fans enjoying the clouds of smoke pouring into the air.

The night element of an event like this truly was something else. 26 drivers battled it out in the qualifying session at night and set the track alight. Competitors lit up their cars in an array of ways to let the crowd know who they were cheering for; a special shout out to ‘3 Fingers Neat’ who’s Nissan Silvia had their emblem lit up neon green bright into the night sky for their fans.

The top 32 round was hotly contested with top competitor John Papadopoulos being a surprisingly early knock out. Mad Mike Whiddett’s day also ended earlier than he and his fans had hoped for. After an excellent first run Mad Mike Whiddett lead well, but an unusually slow lead by Beau Yates into turn one forced Whiddett to correct and lose his line handing Yates the win.

Daynom Templeman looked at home behind the wheel of ‘Ginger’, his Nitrous fed 2JZ-GTE, FD RX7. He attacked the section well all day but the speed of Frederic Aasbo in his Nascar-powered ZN6 forced Daynom to run shallow, ending his day.

Gaz Whiter drifted well all day; his last run against Aussie Nick ‘Drift Kid’ Coulson was tight but unfortunately just not enough. Gaz placed 4th, an effort to be proud of and the highest of the Kiwis! Displaying bumper smashing action, you couldn’t say Gaz and his team weren’t there to compete, and will be watched closely in future rounds.

After a spectacular day of drifting, the field was quickly locked down to 4; Frederic Aasbo, Gaz Whiter, Levi Clarke and Nick Coulson. With Aasbo forced out after mechanical issues, the two Aussies, Levi Clarke and Nick Coulson were left to battle it out for 1 and 2, with Levi Clarke taking the glory and top of the podium.

Congratulations to Levi Clarke and his team on a job well done. Also check out those trophies; how cool are they! The Speedmagnet team had a blast checking out the action here under the hot Sydney sun. The World Time Attack and Formula Drift weekend is something we highly recommend putting in your 2015 calendar as it truly is an experience.
Words – McBean
Photos – Chim Patel

Next Post:
Previous Post:
Plus Pin It Share